Country:  Dominican Republic
Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro
Binder:  Nicaraguan
Filler:  Dominican, Nicaraguan
Size:  Robusto 5.50″ x 54 ring
Courtesy of CigarsDirect.com

Introduced in 1999, the LGC Serie R is Ernesto Perez-Carrillo Jr.’s full-bodied offering for fans of  the Dominican La Gloria Cubana cigars.  They are made in the El Credito factory for General Cigar.  The Serie R is available in 5 sizes and each is available with a natural Ecuadorian Sumatran wrapper or a Connecticut Broad Leaf Maduro wrapper.  All that is except for the Belicoso which is available in the natural wrapper only.  The sizes are…

  • No. 4 – 4.875″ x 52 ring
  • No. 5 – 5.5″ x 54 ring
  • No. 6 – 5.875″ x 60 ring
  • No.7 – 7.0″ x 58 ring
  • Belicoso – 5.75″ x 56 ring (natural only)

These cigars carry some serious size with not a single one coming in with less than a 52 ring guage.  Today I am smoking the No. 5 maduro.  I guess you could call it a toro, or a double robusto, or a robusto extra, or just a regular ole robusto.  Take your pick.

The wrapper is a very dark, mottled brown.  It’s bumpy, veiny,  leathery, and rustic.  This is a well filled firm cigar with a good draw and a straight burn and it produces plenty of  thick white smoke.  Flavor wise there really is much to talk about.  It has a very generic sweet maduro flavor that never really changes.  It is not a bad cigar but it is a little boring.  This cigar could be a good intro to maduros for a new cigar smoker, but it doesn’t have much to offer more experienced smokers.  It is not a full bodied smoke by my standards either.  When I think full bodied, I think Tatuaje, Cruzado, VSG, or La Flor Dominicana.  This cigar is medium bodied at best.  I had hoped to get more from this cigar.   At the beginning I thought maybe there was some potential in this cigar but it just fell flat as I smoked through it.  I could see reaching for one of these for a day on the golf course or mowing the lawn if I happened to have a few laying around.  When it comes down to it, this cigar is just not my cup of tea…

Rating – C