My local cigar shop, Empire Cigars, hosted a dinner on Avo Uvezian’s 83rd Birthday tour.  The event was held in downtown Raleigh at Sullivan’s Steak house.  It was an amazing event and a real bargain to attend.  Everyone got dinner, wine, dessert, and 4 free cigars.  The food was amazing.  If you click the picture of my signed menu below you can see what we had.  I went with the Filet which I believe the majority of the men in attendance chose as well.  What’s better than a good steak with cigars?

320x240

Of course it was Mr U’s birthday celebration so of course there was Birthday cake.

320x240

The free cigars were equally impressive. Everyone received an Avo XO Intermezzo, 787 Toro, Signature Double Corona, and one of the new LE09’s. The only regret I have from this night was that I forgot my camera. I was kicking myself all night over it, but a friend was able to send me a couple of pictures. Here is one of Mr. U and his brand manager.

320x240

Avo spoke and told us about the new LE09 call the Compañero. He told us the this cigar is a cigar he had been smoking for quite a while. It was a personal blend made by a master cigar maker whose name I cannot recall now. Avo loved the cigar and wanted to be able to share it with all of his fans so he asked the gentleman to make him a cigar close to that cigar. His friend told him he would make him the exact same cigar and that cigar is now the Compañero. It has an Ecuadorian grown Habano wrapper and a Dominican Binder. Avo told us the filler is made up of filler from 5 different growing region of the Dominican Republic and also has a Peruvian leaf in it as well. He said the youngest leaf in the filler is 3 years old and much of it was 5 or more years old including a 23 year old leaf! I smoked the sample they handed out as he told us all about this cigar. It is unlike any Avo I have ever had before. I thought it was an exceptional cigar. It smoked smooth, the flavors chewy and creamy. I really enjoyed it. So much so I bought a box of them.

320x240

320x240

320x240

The box, besides being signed by Avo, came with this beautiful ashtray.

320x240

I had an absolute blast hanging out with a Cigar Industry legend, and smoking cigars with my friends and my father. I should mention that my father took me to this dinner for my birthday present. This was one of the coolest birthday presents I can remember receiving. Thanks Dad!