Photobucket

The White Band Project 2010 is the second annual blind review project between Matt’s Cigar Journal and Zen & the Art of the Cigar. You can read about the project, its criteria and rules by clicking here.

320x240
Cigar number 6 is a big beefy torpedo.  The wrapper is very handsome.  It is the dark brown of a leather bomber jacket with a very slight tooth and an oily sheen.  A cold draw delivers some black pepper and musty earth flavors.  Upon lighting it up it starts off with a sharp black pepper bite.  It doesn’t take long for the black pepper to fade to the background and notes of warm hardwoods and dark chocolate dominate complimented by a subtle, sweet undertone of vanilla and spice.  The draw is perfect and the burn jagged but even.  Smoke has a rich, heavy, cedar aroma.It is a very robust smoke, not quite full bodied with a stout nicotine punch.

320x240
The cigar really smooths out at the half way mark. It is still dominated by toasted wood flavors mixed with notes of leather and coffee. It is exhibiting some nice complexity with nicely balanced robust flavors and smooth subtleties. The last third was more of the same, strong wood flavors with leather and musty earthiness. The construction was impeccable. This was a fantastic cigar.

Like the other cigars this one also has a decidedly Nicaraguan feel to it. It is also a very familiar cigar to me. Based on my experience with this cigar I am feeling a little better about my impressions that these are Oliva cigars. The thing about hazarding a guess here is that if I am wrong it will be total whiff and a bit embarrassing. The saving grace is that identifying a cigar when smoking it blind is a difficult thing to do so perhaps that will earn me a bit of slack if I missed. That is what I am telling myself anyway. I am going to put myself out there though and attempt to put a name to all three cigars. They were all very familiar to me and I feel as though I have smoked all three of these several times before. So here it is…

I am going to say that these cigars are Oliva cigars. I think number two was a Connecticut Reserve Lonsdale, number 4 was an El Cobre Robusto, and this cigar, number 6 is an Oliva Serie V Torpedo.

OK, now I am nervous and anxious to find out what they really were.  The meeting between me and Jamie to reveal the cigars and discuss the results was scheduled for tonight but unfortunately will need to be delayed a week.  Hopefully if there are no further delays, the unveiling of the cigars will be posted late next week.  So be sure to check back.

You can see the review of cigar #5 over at Zen & the Art of the Cigar.

Find the other reviews at these links…

Photobucket

