320x240

Country: Honduras
Wrapper: Maduro
Filler: Maduro
Size: Rothschild 4.5″x50 ring

I first reviewed the Camacho Triple Maduro back in May 2007. That review was based on a cello wrapped unbanded Rothschild that was provided to me by Camacho before the official release of this much heralded cigar. I found the cigar to be a pretty decent smoke, but I was not wowed by it. Subsequently, I have been informed by others who also tried one of these unbanded “pre-released” versions of the Triple Maduro, that the Triple Maduro which ultimately hit the shelves is much better. I don’t claim to know if there is really any difference between what is on the shelves now versus what I smoked then, but I figured I would put it to the test. It just so happens that I still possess one of the sample smokes I got way back in May. I also have myself a Triple Maduro Rothschild that I purchased off the shelf at my local cigar shop. So here it goes. I’ll smoke these two cigars one right after the other to do a side by side comparison to determine, at least in my own mind, if there really is a difference between the two smokes, and if one is actually better than the other. Don’t concern yourself about any inequity in resting time. I bought the banded edition not long after their release so it has had almost as much time in my humidor as the sample that was sent to me by Camacho. Just as a quick refresher, what makes this particular cigar so unique is that it is the first maduro puro. The wrapper, binder, and filler are all maduro leaf tobacco. This is something that has never been done before because using all maduro presents certain challenges especially when trying to get the cigar to burn right. Camacho managed to pull it off and now we have the Triple Maduro which if I go by the statistics I get from my blog here, is one of the most queried cigars on internet searches. I get more hits on my site from searches for the Triple Maduro than any other review I’ve done, even the Tatuajes, which come in a distant second in terms of hits from search engines for my site.

The two cigars look very much alike. The wrapper looks to be identical. it is very dark and rough looking with lots of veins and plenty of tooth. Both cigars are rock solid and seem almost over filled to the touch. The caps are a bit sloppy, and bunch looks good. There are no rib viens to be seen in the foot. The huge band on the production release just about swallows up the diminutive length of the Rothschild, but it is a beautiful band and the second band on the foot is a nice touch making for a very nice presentation.

320x240

So, up first is the unbanded, cello wrapped sample that the folks at Camacho (namely Dylan) so generously provided me. I clipped the head and the bunch looks just as nice on this end of the cigar. I toasted the foot and it took a light nicely. It starts off very robust and full bodied. There is lots of black pepper and a spicy bite. For the first inch I thought this would be a tough cigar to finish even in this short size because of the fullness and the punch it was packing. it leaves a slightly sweet flavor on the lips typicla of a maduro. about an inch and a half in it mellows out a lot. Its is a very smooth smoke, medium bodied with cocoa notes and a maduro sweetness. At this point it gets kind of one dimensional never changing up. I said it in my initial review and it still applies. This cigar is all maduro all the time. I see why maduro lovers enjoy this cigar as it gives that maduro flavor in abundance. The construction is superb and my concerns about it being over filled were unfounded. The draw was impeccable and it produces an abundance of thick white smoke. This cigar is packed full of tobacco and it burns cool and smooth with a firm ash that holds very well.

Now on to the final production version. Again this one is packed to the gills with tobacco giving it a slow cool burn. The construction is amazing. These may be the best constructed cigars in Camacho’s arsenal which is saying something as all their cigars are very well made. The burn is perfect, and the draw is perfect. This one doesn’t start off with the punch that the other one did and if there is any other difference at all I’d say it is even mellower and more to the mild side of medium bodied. It is a very smooth smoking cigar and again it is all maduro not just in its make up but in its flavor as well. Maduro fans will love these cigars. As for myself, since maduros are more of a when I’m in the mood kind of thing, it isn’t something I’ll be smoking a lot of, but when the mood does hit I can’t think of a better non-limited release maduro to smoke. As for which version of this smoke is better? Personally I like the unbanded sample a bit better because of it’s powerful, peppery start. It made for a more interesting smoke. So I’d have to disagree with some of the opinions I had heard about the final release being better than the unbanded samples. The triple maduro is a very good cigar and is extremely well made. These could rate a B+ for me if they just had a little more complexity to them, but as is, I give them a very respectable high B.

Rating – B

