Image hosting by Photobucket
I am the proud father of a wonderful, happy, and healthy two year old girl. I am very thankful for this because I realize how precious a happy and healthy child is. This is, in part, why I participate in the Ride for Kids every year. My wife is pregnant again and my son is due to be born in just a few weeks. The joy and excitement of his pending arrival has reminded me how precious a healthy child is and has reaffirmed my commitment to this important and worthwhile charity.

I first got involved with fundraising for this charity when I learned my wife was pregnant with our first child. The prospect for being a father suddenly had me thinking (and worrying) about a lot of things that never occurred to me before. The Ride for Kids is a national fundraising organization for the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation of the United States. This frightening and deadly disease affects thousands of children and their families. The PBTFUS is a nonprofit organization that seeks to find the cause and cure of brain tumors in children by supporting medical research, increasing public awareness of the disease and aiding in early detection and treatment of childhood brain tumors.

The 4th Annual Triangle Area Ride for Kids is coming up in May so I am starting my fund raising drive now. Please take a moment to visit my fund raising page, Matthew’s Triangle Ride for Kids Page, and if you can, make a donation to support my fundraising efforts. This year marks my 4th year working with this charity. Last year was a really great year. My friends (which include readers of this blog), family, and co-workers helped me to raise over $1000.00 for the PBTFUS. I was very proud to have reached such a high fundraising goal, and it earned me special recognition in the form of a photo plaque that noted my fundraising total and has a picture of me and my family with some of the kids who got to ride in the event. All told, the riders at last year’s event presented the PBTFUS with a check for $82,320.00. That is more than double the previous year’s total.

Every little bit helps so donations of any size are welcome and appreciated. If enough people donate as little as five or ten dollars I can quickly reach my goal of $1000.00. The Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation of the is a 501(c) (3) nonprofit charity and all donations are tax deductible. You can access my fundraising page by clicking the “Ride for Kids Donations” link on the left hand side of this page or by clicking the Ride for kids banner above.

Thank you so much for your support and your donations. It means a lot to me and the families dealing with this horrible disease.

