Country: Nicaragua
Wrapper: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan w/ Honduran Binder
Size: Robusto 5.0″x52 ring
(for a detailed description of the points system I use please click here.)

I believe this is a fairly new cigar but I am not sure. It is new in the humidor of my local cigar shop anyway. The rep is always handing these out every time he comes through so I figured I’d give it a try.

Appearance and Construction – 7/10
Not a bad looking cigar with a nice presentation. It sports a bright yellow band near the head and a second band wrapped around the foot. The wrapper is applied very well, smooth with no creases. It is well filled and has a well applied cap that clipped nicely. There was one of the largest rib veins I’ve ever seen in a cigar in the head and the maduro wrapper was very dark brown and splotchy. The pre-light draw was very good with just the right amount of resistance.

Flavor – 10/20
This is mild smoke with straight forward flavors. I found it to be a bit one dimensional. Just your basic tobacco with a slight hint of chocolate and a typical maduro sweetness. The finish was woody and a little bitter. It never changed or did anything to hold my attention.

Smoking Characteristics – 6/10
A weak cigar with no real buzz factor to speak of. The burn was decent never needing any manual correction but I couldn’t call it a straight burn. The ash was dark grey and flaky and didn’t hold for very long. I needed to tap it every inch or so.

Price – 2/5
I did get this cigar for free but I believe these retail for just under $5 a stick. At that price point, this cigar lands in a pretty saturated market. There are a ton of cigars to choose from in the $4-$6 range, and many of those choices provide a more interesting and enjoyable smoke. As mild as this cigar is, at this price it may be good for a beginner but is not something a seasoned cigar smoker would enjoy.

Conclusion
This is a very mild cigar with decent construction. Like I said above, it would probably appeal to a new cigar smoker that enjoys a mild smoke and a small price tag. If you enjoy a more robust and complex smoke you definitely want to pass on this one.

The Math
25/4.5 = 5.55*10 = 55.5

