Country: Honduras
Filler: Long filler
Wrapper: Cameroon
Size: Torpedo 6.0″x52 ring

UPDATE: I smoked a Select Super Robusto last night. As good as the Torpedo was, I would reccomend the Super Robusto above the torp. It was fantastic. Smooth yet it still had that Camacho strength, more so than the torp. It burned perfect and really came alive in the last third. If your thinking of trying this line, the Super Robusto is a good place to start. [6/22/06 7:47am]

It took a while but the much anticipated Camacho Select is finally on store shelves. I attended a Camacho smoker at the Tobacconist of Cary this week and picked up a handful. While I was there I enjoyed a Select Torpedo. I had the opportunity to smoke several of the pre-production versions of this cigar, all of which were phenomenal Cameroon cigars so I was looking forward to the production release quite anxiously. The production release has been kicked up a notch or two in strength from the original release, but the end result is the same. A fantastic, flavorful Cameroon that is as good or better than any other Cameroon I have smoked. The construction is excellent. My torp had a nice even burn throughout and the ash held firm. With the increase in strength from the original release, the Select isn’t quite a smooth as it was and it has changed the flavor of it a bit, but I wouldn’t say the change is better or worse. Just different than it was. It is still a great smoke and it is now my Cameroon of choice.

For another take on the Select see what they had to say about it over at Keepers of the Flame.

